Hello everyone,

I have been playing for a little more than a year, and I play mostly metal.

Rythmic speed isn't really a problem for me (I can downpick Master of Puppets and Creeping Death without major problems).

I'm ok at some little solos such as the intro to Fade to Black and Welcome Home Sanitarium, as well as the main solo of Nothing Else Matters. (I know I know I play way too much Metallica).

I can play all the riffs of the following songs:

Seek And Destroy, The Four Horsemen, Am I Evil, Creeping Death, Trapped Under Ice, Fade To Black, Master Of Puppets, Battery, Welcome Home Sanitarium, Orion, Disposable Heroes, One, And Justice for All, Enter Sandman, Symphony Of Destruction, Holy Wars, Hangar 18, Tornado Of souls, Raining Blood, Angel of Death, War Ensemble, South of Heaven, Dead Skin Mask, aaaaaaand Indians.

As you can see, I am a big 4 guitarist (please don't laugh).

I can play the rhythm to all these songs but I can't help but think I'm missing something. I know my major, minor, blues, pentatonic major/minor and harmonic minor scales as well as a few chords, I can improv a little bit, but I feel like I should play better.

After 1.2 years of playing, what should I be able to do? (which solos should I be able to play?)

Thanks alot.
Quote by FireFromTheVoid
Why would we laugh because you like thrash metal?

Because I reckon people think that only playing songs from a few bands is "lame"...
I'm paranoid ._.
well it depends how much you practice but thats seems alright to me, if you can play all the rhythm for those songs at least you can consider yourself a rhythm player lol
My Gear:
BC Rich Gunslinger Retro Blade
Vintage V100 Paradise + SD Alnico Pro Slash APH-2's
1963 Burns Short Scale Jazz Guitar
Dean Performer Florentine
Bugera 6260
Orange Micro Terror + cab
Digitech Bad Monkey
Zoom G2G