Page 1 of 2
Hi everyone,

I have an Ibanez RG120 and the body's wood is agathis.
I think it sounds great with Roland Cube.
The Infinite humbuckers are really good for stock pickups. I think they do great for rock and metal.

So why is there so much hate towards these features?

Lazy? tl;dr Why so much hate towards agathis and Infinite pickups?
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
I thought people got off the Agathis hate wagon years ago?

Its not the nicest wood but most people associate it with cheap BC Rich guitars ( I certainly do ) so I guess thats why, its just very bland sounding.

For stock the Infinity series arent awful they are a definite "Jack of all trades. Master of none" pickup.

I dont mean to be rude but people love the RG series as a whole, they are one of the most enduring superstrat series out there, however the lower end ones arent much better than any other low end guitar. Its the models such as yours that get the hate, unwarranted but you dont see things like the 3120s getting slated.

1977 Burny FLG70
2004 EBMM JP6
2016 SE Holcolmb
I sort of made my RG120 less hate-able for me.
I just blocked the cr*ppy FAT10 tremolo

I actually think the FAT10 is the only disappointment I find with this guitar.
Can't stay in tune to save it's chrome.
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
I agree with Tom.

Agathis is a bit thin sounding wood and the pickups are nice beginner guitar-stock pickups.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
-Jackson Soloist Std. Professional '93
DiMarzio Evolution (bridge) SD Lil' Screamin Demon (neck)

-B.C. Rich Warlock Special Edition Metal Web

-Peavey Bandit 112
Quote by Woffelz
I sort of made my RG120 less hate-able for me.
I just blocked the cr*ppy FAT10 tremolo