Hi all,

I have been playing Guitar for two years, mainly self-taught. I do it as a hobby, and I probably play 5 out of 7 nights a week. I have been playing the same Fender Squire Strat since I began and I really want to get something new. I have no clue as to what good guitar brands are, or what guitars are good for specific styles of playing. And so that is where you guys come in! -- Hopefully

I play a huge range of music, all kinds of rock/metal, from heavy dropped-tuned stuff to classic rock to prog. I am looking for a generally diverse guitar. I don't expect to be playing live shows, or anything. Just something to jam with.

Is there a specific brand that makes guitars like this? Is this a situation where I simply need to hit up the local guitar shop and try things out? Any input as to what I should look out for would be appreciated.

Oh, and pricetag is anything reasonable. I would probably go with $300-$800, seeing as this guitar will likely go for another two years before I look to replace.

Thanks, UG users!
"CHOOSE YOUR FATE AND DIE!!"

-- Do as I say, not as I do. --
Well, I'm a die hard Ibanez man myself, and a lot of their guitars - especially the S and the RG series - are very versatile guitars, despite often being profiled a little to the metal / shred side of playing. Very comfortable to play, too - thin necks and comfortable bodies, nice weight, overall good designs. However, there are equally many people out there who don't like Ibanez, often for the thin neck or simply the 'vibe'.

Be it Ibanez or not, I'd recommend a guitar with an H/S/H or an H/S/S pickup configuration - I find that a combination of both humbuckers and singlecoils is a very great contributor in the versatility of a guitar.