So I'm looking into getting a good bass for shits n giggles (I'm a guitarist mostly), and I love the look of the 4003S. Problem is, I really don't know anything about basses, what makes one better than the other and such, and if I'm putting this much money into an instrument, I want to know that it's not poorly placed. The style would mostly be heavy, fuzzy, rock stuff. Think DFA 1979 or Muse, for the most part. Is this a good choice for such music?

Side note: What would be a good, cheap amp with enough wattage to play with other people and takes kindly to pedals?
We've dressed up in our best...

...and are prepared to go down like gentlemen.

Quote by bogg808
The PBT is for those too TGP for the rest of UG.

First, I'll make a few points about getting a Rickenbacker:

1) The 4003S has been discontinued since '95, so you'll either have to find a used one, or go for a normal 4003. Either route will be very very expensive.
2) Ricks have a very particular sound and feel, they're fantastic basses, but they're the kind of bass you only get if you absolutely know you want the Rick tone, and you've tried one before and know you like the feel of it. For a guitarist looking for a bass to dabble on, a Rick is probably one of the last basses I'd recommend being as its such a niche instrument, unless you're absolutely in love with one and you've had a good go on a 4001/4003.

Buying basses is like buying guitars, its very subjective and there are a lot of different kinds out there. The best thing you can do is go to a store and start trying basses out to get an idea of what you like. That being said, we can always give suggestions and help narrow your search down, but to do that we'll need to know your budget.
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
I'd like to keep it under $1,500 used.

What would you say is the Rick's niche? My ability to go out and play one is a bit limited.

Quote by bogg808

Quote by mcraddict81592
I'd like to keep it under $1,500 used.