I've always been talking about wanting an electric guitar for the longest while now, so my aunt bought me one one day from a pawn shop but.... the strings on it, it kinda looks rusty and i fear i may get cut from it and my finger get infected or something like that o.o

So im a beginner guitar player so i was wandering, what type or brand of strings would be good for this guitar? And i know this may be a dumb question but would it make barre chords a lil easier?

Last edited by x_Hezee_x at May 19, 2011,
I would recommend a set of Elixirs personally. They feel nice, sound nice, and last for an extremely long time, especially if your hands are clean when you play. I have a 7 string set thats been on my Ibanez since September '10 and they still play like they're almost new. Seriously.

Though, some people don't like coated strings(they have a coating that makes them smooth and last longer), I don't notice any serious difference between coated and non coated soundwise.

They're a bit more expensive than regular strings($15) but will last for ages. Get a pack of "9s", i.e. the gauge, or size, has the smallest string at being .009 and the largest being somewhere around 45ish. This is generally the standard size for many factory guitar setups.

Hope that helps. Oh and bar chords are pretty much going to be a slut no matter what strings you use.
well it's all up to your style. you should go with strings that suit you, 0.9's or 0.10's maybe?

you have to practice them chords
If you are a begginer guitar player, i would recommend experimenting with different types of strings from various manufacturers (Dunlop, D'addario, DR strings, Fender, Ernie Ball to name a few ) and try to find something that suits your own taste. Be sure to experiment with different gauges too.