So, I've been playing for about 2 years and a half now. I've never practiced much, maybe a few times per week on 2 or so hour sessions.

Thing is, I want to play certain songs (the solos in particular), but I just can't seem to. They're just too difficult for me...

If I get a tab for a solo, I can't seem to keep in time or know what part is what. And when I can, I just can't seem to play it with the original speed.

If I use a metronome combined with a tab (or by ear sometimes, but it's another thing it's very difficult for me to do, especially in solos), I can't seem to fit the song to a slower BPM other than the original full speed BPM.

And so on... What am I supposed to do? Tabs don't seem to work for me as I get lost, and my ear isn't developed enough to figure out the solos and such...

Maybe I need exercises, or something like that? I've only had guitar lessons for about a year with some time in between that I wasn't having them, so I don't know if that is important...
re read your first sentence, in it you will find why you find it difficult to play solos
I hate to spill the beans, but here's the secret: You have to practice every day. There's no way around it.
So it's actually preferable to practice a little bit every day, rather than 2, 3 or 4 times per week with long sessions?

I seriously didn't know that... I mean, it seemed that it would equal more or less the same amount of practice.

But thanks guys.
Quote by KaiZ
So it's actually preferable to practice a little bit every day, rather than 2, 3 or 4 times per week with long sessions?

I seriously didn't know that... I mean, it seemed that it would equal more or less the same amount of practice.

But thanks guys.

When you play everyday, you condition your brain and hands to playing everyday. This means that they'll be ready to play at the drop of a hat, making them warm-up faster, learn faster, and improve faster.