So i'm planning on buying a power conditioner very soon. It's a Furman M-8x2.

http://www.zzounds.com/item--FURM8X2

Just to be sure, I plug this into my wall, then plug anything else into the conditioner itself and it should get rid of those extra noises I get from my amp? Like all of the crackles and pops it does when I turn it on? Also, it should serve as a surge protector?

I asked a friend about it and he said it's a good idea to buy a power conditioner. I also heard it's not necessary unless you have a crapload of rackmount effects? I'm kind of new to rack-related equipment, so any help is appreciated. Thanks.
pinga
Firstly, are you gigging? That's mostly the reason most people get a power conditioner. I bought one recently after my first gig because the power setup looked very dodgy. I also have a pre-amp as well as a tube head as well as my other guitarists head that I plug into it.

It's a common misconception that a power conditioner will get rid of noise. It doesn't really do much in the way of noise, possibly smooths it out a little bit if you have bad power. They aren't the same as a surge protector. A power conditioner protects your stuff from spikes/surges/abnormal power and makes sure it is all at a consistent voltage. Many people plug into a surge protector as well to be on the safe side.

It isn't necessary to have a crapload of rack gear before you buy one... but if you have any sort of expensive equipment then it is a good idea. But certainly don't buy one for noise because that's not what they're for.

Btw I have the same one as that except 240v and I have the one with the super cool lights built in
Jackson DK2M
ESP LTD M-200FM w/Tone Zone + PAF Pro
Ibanez RG7321
Digitech Whammy IV
Digitech GSP1101
Furman M-10 LxE
Peavey 6505
ISP Decimator