First off, I am not sure if this is the correct place to post this. If it isn't I am very sorry

No matter how much I practice, I cannot play master of puppets at the correct speed. I maxed at around 180 while the song is played at 212. For the past few days, I could not go faster. Been practicing the song for a few weeks and was gradually getting faster...not anymore.

Does anyone who knows how to play it have tips because it seems pretty hard. Thanks in advance!
I would hold off on it for a little while dude and play some other stuff. Master of Puppets isn't exactly an easy song to play full speed. I've been playing Master of Puppets for a couple years and it's still challenging to play that riff after the intro bit at full speed. Especially down-picking like Kirk and James play it.
zapatista89 wrote:

you know the music from zelda that plays when you open a chest? that played in my head reading that headline.

Quote by Swannie
dammit we're the guitar players! why don't we have all the chicks?!
Quote by Suffrin
I would hold off on it for a little while dude and play some other stuff. Master of Puppets isn't exactly an easy song to play full speed. I've been playing Master of Puppets for a couple years and it's still challenging to play that riff after the intro bit at full speed. Especially down-picking like Kirk and James play it.

They downpick that!!!!!????? No wonder they are referred to as guitar gods. I'm not a metallica fan: I actually hate them: but the only reason I want to learn the song is because it sounds awesome.

Mmmh...I have been playing for less than a year, so its practically impossible for me to do it then. Almost there though, just another 30-40 bpm. I think I am satisfied at not playing it full speed. After all, if everyone could play it, Hammet wouldn't be very famous........now would he?
Play the riff at a slower speed with a metronome, then slowly increase. Basically treat it like a solo.