I've been playing acoustic guitar for about 6 months and I am looking to buy a cheap electric + amp. I was thinking about getting an Epiphone Les Paul 100 ($290) and a Roland Micro Cube amp ($170). I figured the Micro Cube would be a good choice because I just play at home and don't need a powerful amp, and I heard the LP 100 was a good beginners choice. Any suggestions for a budget around $500?

Edit: I live in Australia, and a good all round guitar would be nice, but I would lean more towards a clean or bluesy sound as opposed to heavy metal.
Last edited by Ash7778 at May 21, 2011,
First, I wouldn't go with a Micro Cube unless space is an issue. I bought one for my dorm because... well, space was an issue. And it's got a decent 2 cleans, and the Rec model is good for high gain, but the two Brit models are pretty trashy. Also, you shouldn't be paying $170. I got mine brand new for $80 shipped.

I'd recommend a used Peavey Vypyr 30 hesitantly- it'll be ~$150 used, but much much better than the Micro Cube.

Where are you and what are some artists whose tone you really like? That'll help a lot with the guitar and amp suggestions, and let us look at your Craigslist and such for used stuff.
Quote by Wisthekiller
tl;dr How does one safely remove the smell of a corpse from a banjo?

Would you run down past the fence?

Tell us, is the black box lying?
Quote by Ash7778
I've been playing acoustic guitar for about 6 months and I am looking to buy a cheap electric + amp. I was thinking about getting an Epiphone Les Paul 100 ($290) and a Roland Micro Cube amp ($170). I figured the Micro Cube would be a good choice because I just play at home and don't need a powerful amp, and I heard the LP 100 was a good beginners choice. Any suggestions for a budget around $500?