I have a Peavey 5150 combo I bought second hand and was told the preamp tubes are probably pretty old but the power tubes are more new. I've had this amp for maybe a year or more and may have had this issue from the beginning but honestly can't remember. The issue is that when I turn the the pregain rhythm dial up or down it crackles (kind of like a dirty volume pot). The lead channel pregain dial does not. Knowing absolutely 0 about tube amps I was wondering if anyone knows what this issue might be (keep in mind I am not technical at all and might be too nervous doing any opening up or cleaning of anything so I might take it to a tech if need be)?
Do you turn the pot while you're playing? I don't mean to sound condescending, but as long as there's nothing wrong with the sound once it's set, I wouldn't worry. My Box of Rock crackles when I turn it, but they have assured me that there's nothing to be afraid of in this regard.
Epi Explorer
Squier Vintage Modified Tele

Dunlop Crybaby (modded)
TC Polytune
Marshall ED-1
Vexter Box of Rock
Harmonic Jerkulator (home made)
Boss CE-3
Line6 Echo Park

Modified Traynor YCV40
Fender Super Champ XD
No; however, like a volume pot in a guitar after awhile it can get worse and then it will start cutting out even when you're not turning it. I was wondering if this is a sign that something will need to be replaced/fixed/cleaned ?
That's a scratchy pot. You might try taking the knob off of the potentiometer, spraying some contact cleaner onto the shaft, and then turning it a bit to work it in there.

Do it while the amp is off, of course.

If it doesn't work, you might have to replace the pot, which will require some electrical experience.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??