Budget? - Up to $700 maximum.

Genres? - Alternative Rock/Metal/Punk (www.illadvised.net). Favorite guitarists: Quinn Allman, Kurt Cobain, Jared Leto, Ray Toro, Frank Iero, Jade Pudget.

New or Used? - Either.

Home or Gig? - Both.

Closest City? - New York City/Northern New Jersey area.

Current Gear? - Epiphone SG 1966 Reissue G-400 Limited Edition. Basic Boss distortion/overdrive pedal.

I recently started playing rhythm guitar in my band (I'm the lead singer) and I've been using my friend's Marshall MG100HDFX half-stack. I'm figuring I'm going to have to get an amp of my own that will work for shows pretty soon but am at a loss of where to start. Although I'll be recording lead and rhythm parts live I'll just be doing rhythm guitar for the most part when I have to pick up the guitar for songs that need it if that makes a difference. I've read good things about the MG100HDFX but I haven't been too impressed with it. The tone doesn't sound that great and clearly computerized (except for the clean) and when I have to turn it up at practice I feel like every note isn't as pronounced as I would like it to be. It sounds kind of muddy and sloppy. It is a used amp, so for all I know something could be wrong with it.

I'm looking for something that isn't too expensive and doesn't have tons of effects, but isn't completely bare either (I'd rather use pedals than have to configure tons of pre-sets) but that has a decent tone and is loud enough to play at clubs. I don't have a very large budget but if it's a matter of a hundred bucks give or take for something better I'd probably be able to do it so something probably no more expensive than $650 if possible. It doesn't have to be a tube amp but something that doesn't sound watered down when you crank up the volume would be awesome.