I started learning some very basic theory today, and what wondering if someone could help me with some things.
First of all, I need some definitions for:
What Key a song is in, what is key?
Chord Progressions
and most importantly, if I'm writing a riff, are there are tips for making it sound like it belongs in a specific genre?

Thanks for your help, newb out.
Key: the scale in which the song is created with.
Chord Progressions are just A series of chords
Try using techniques that guitarists of that genre use.
Quote by kaptkegan
Don't think I've ever been sigged.

I pretty much never leave the drug thread anymore.
Quote by Metallicuh
Key: the scale in which the song is created with.
Chord Progressions are just A series of chords
Try using techniques that guitarists of that genre use.

Thanks for the reply.
So, to clarify, key is another word for scale?
Quote by Fusileer7
Thanks for the reply.
So, to clarify, key is another word for scale?

No - key refers to the chords, not the individual notes.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Not necessarily. Scale is the name for the whole material of notes you have, key is just the first note of this scale.
A key is more like the headline of the scale.
So what difference does key make? Is it just a way of categorising chords which sound similar or give a similar effect?
Quote by BSPDelta09
Not necessarily. Scale is the name for the whole material of notes you have, key is just the first note of this scale.
A key is more like the headline of the scale.

Oh right, I think I understand now, sorry, I posted that last reply before this came through, thank you.
Scale - a sequence of notes, defined by the intervals contained in that sequence.