First off, im a guitarist, i know how to play bass (properly) but have never used anything beyond the samick rental i used when i took music in school like 7 years ago.

Now me and my friend and starting up a recording studio and such. And we've got all the hardware software ect for that. and fortunately for us we both have pretty extensive knowledge of six strings and guitar amps.

Now neither of us know dick about Bass gear. for now seeing as the loan our partners approved for us isn't as high as we had hoped, we have a fairly low budget for buying the addition things we need. as we will need much of this money for advertisment and starting costs ect.

So to the point. I'm in charge of getting tohe gear, as my friend has decided to deal with the other stuff. like i said i dont know all too much about bass. There are things like, yeah i know about ampeg and great companies ect. But mostly i was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for a few basses (we'd like to at least get a hold of 4 or 5 for now, as we'll purchase more as we pay off our loan and bring in more gear ect) and a few bass amps. So i was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for decent quality gear, at an affordable cost. as i said our loan wasnt too too much to get the stuff our partner wants us too. we have around a little under 5000 to spend on bass gear.
5000 what?
Damn it! Disable can't use disable to disable Disable's disable because disable's disable has already been disabled by Disable's disable!
Last edited by dark Mass at May 22, 2011,
Quote by fleajr_1412
5000 in what currency?

5000 dollars canadian, which right now i think is like roughly 5100 in US right now
It's good idea to get a five string and maybe even six string as well but I wouldn't recommend fender for that. And make sure you have at least one 24 fret bass.
Quote by obeythepenguin