So, I've had a 5150 combo, and just got an Orange 2x12 PPC212. I want to test this thing out. The Orange is 16 ohms, and I've heard there's an impedance selector on the 5150 combo or something? What and how and where do I switch that so that I don't cause an implosion when I hook the combo up to the Orange cab?

Thanks! I'm a total noob and don't want to ruin good gear.
Set the amp to match the cab so in your case it would be 16 ohms.
Ibanez SIR27
Pod HD500x

RIP:
Mesa Boogie Roadster 2x12 combo
Cmatmods analog chorus, phaser, tremoglo, signa drive, butah, and deeelay
walrus Audio Descent
Apparently according to the manual the external speaker out should already be 16 ohms.

I think there is a selector on the 5150 combos correct me if i'm wrong but its inside of the amp which is a pain and a stupid design decision.

Anyway i'd wait till someone who has had first hand experience with this can chime in.
Quote by fixationdarknes
So, I've had a 5150 combo, and just got an Orange 2x12 PPC212. I want to test this thing out. The Orange is 16 ohms, and I've heard there's an impedance selector on the 5150 combo or something? What and how and where do I switch that so that I don't cause an implosion when I hook the combo up to the Orange cab?

Thanks! I'm a total noob and don't want to ruin good gear.

i looked into this and heard from a peavey rep that "if you plug in the 2x12 to the 5150 the amp automatically becomes 8 ohm because it's now driving 4 speakers" pluggin in the cab your combo will automatically switch to 8 ohms. you should plug in only an 16 ohm cab to do this.

there is a myth that half ohms = half power and that doing this to your 5150 makes it into a 30watt amp. this isnt true

if you want your 5150 to stay 16 ohm total, then open the closed back, dissconnect the pins that attach the sheffields. then connect the external cab. your amp will now continue to run at 16 ohm as usual.