I realised the other day that in the 6 years or so that I've been playing on and off I've learned around 10 songs.
I mean I haven't ever played with a band or with other guitarists or had a lesson in about 3 years but I still thought I'd have done better. I know riffs from a few songs that I started learning but never finished.
At the end of last year I bought a delay pedal to try and reinvigorate my interest, but uni kicked it away again for a while.
The other day I did ask a friend for some songs to learn though, so I've started on tool's lateralus which sounds fine enough. Sort of branching away from heavy metal now, since that also seems to have been quite limiting.

Still, it's kind of hard to find the motivation to do it.

Sort of a rant here I guess, but how do you guys deal with trying to get better when you don't feel like there's any point?
Peavey Rage 158
Ibanez RG 320 FM
ESP LTD AX-50
Boss MT-2
Boss CH-1
Belcat Delay
Digitech Jamman Solo
I used to start and start all the time, and it seemed every time I restarted I'd forget part of my technique, songs and so on next time you lose motivation still atsleast pick it up once a day.
That really helped me keep motivated.

EDIT: and when you finish a song or get bored with it, get another song to try and learn.
One of the third friendliest users
Stratkat's pet

Quote by Momentosis
Void is a wanker that's why

Last edited by FireFromTheVoid at May 24, 2011,
I guess my lack of actual music doesn't really help either. I don't download music if i can help it but nor do I buy it, so sucks to get new influences.

edit - any suggestions on how I could get ideas on songs to learn? Like, go to a music shop and buy random cd's or something? I'm not sure how shit like that works anymore, I haven't bought a CD since eiffel 65 were popular when I was like, 8.

edit 2 - wait, not a cd. it was a tape. fukken cassettes were still popular back then.
Peavey Rage 158
Ibanez RG 320 FM
ESP LTD AX-50
Boss MT-2
Boss CH-1
Belcat Delay