Whats the first thing I should teach a friend who wants to learn to play guitar? I want to make the teaching session professional and 'proper' so that it may spark something in them to want to self teach like I did and maybe pick up guitar properly. As I self taught I can not remember where I started. What should I do for like the first day?
'Slap bass refers to the slap delivered to the bassist when they play too loud or with any kind of attention drawing behaviour...'

'The dusty end, is not my friend.'
Quote by Rich EpiWildkat
Whats the first thing I should teach a friend who wants to learn to play guitar? I want to make the teaching session professional and 'proper' so that it may spark something in them to want to self teach like I did and maybe pick up guitar properly. As I self taught I can not remember where I started. What should I do for like the first day?

first day.

I'd say focus on the proper way to hold the guitar. What everything is called (bridge, tuners, headstock, neck, etc..). Tell them what the strings are called, low E, a, d g, b, high e. How to use an electric tuner.

I'd say start at the high e string and have them play the open e, the f, and the g. Have them tap their foot and play quarter notes. Real simple stuff but a good place to start I think.
Quote by mh1986
first day.

I'd say focus on the proper way to hold the guitar. What everything is called (bridge, tuners, headstock, neck, etc..). Tell them what the strings are called, low E, a, d g, b, high e. How to use an electric tuner.

I'd say start at the high e string and have them play the open e, the f, and the g. Have them tap their foot and play quarter notes. Real simple stuff but a good place to start I think.