I have been a "guitar player" for about 3 years, but I am honestly pretty terrible. I can play power chords and basic open chords but I really don't know much of anything else. I want to really start building my guitar playing from the ground up and gain knowledge about the instrument. I am starting to learn Barre Chords because I think that might be a good place to start picking up again. Let me know what you think.
Play songs you like. Challenge yourself. If you stumble on a part you can't play, use that as an opportunity to develop your technique. Practice that part in isolation with a metronome and make every note count.
You can study chords until you're blue in the face, but playing an instrument is all about making music.

I dunno, that's what I would suggest.
I am not very good at figuring out how to play songs by ear and it's hard to find good tabs for a lot of the music I like.
learn a Frank Zappa song if you wanna challenge urself. there are some nice beginner songs you can learn out there. practice every day, even if its only for 5 minutes. learning scales also helps a ton and it relatively easy.
you should learn songs you like, then figure out what key and scale your in, start to play/improvise to the music, work on your technique, basically don't just 'do' anything, learn why and what you are doing, it helps 10x as much
Quote by dviv17
"It's just about what i think." - Woody B

THE GREAT WOODY B LADIES AND GENTLEMEN!
yeah I think hes pretty much on with his assessment but definitely get into a little theory also. The "eddie van halen doesnt know anything!!!" line is a little bull. Any knowledge you can acquire for yourself is only going to give you tools to use to express yourself. Once those tools are no longer "tools" but instinctual reflexes then your creativity can be explored on a greater level. But I'm an electrician by day so what the hell do I know!!!!
Quote by durtnasty
also how do i figure out what Key a song is in and what chords are in a key