Sorry if there is already a thread for this, but I couldn't really find anything asking the question I need answered. I have an ESP/LTD MH-400 (http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/ESP-LTD-MH400-Electric-Guitar?sku=516684) With the 81/85 EMG combo. This is a stupid question I know but I'm a new guitarist still. Whats the best height to set my pickups? How close should the neck and bridge pickups be to the strings themselves? I greatly appreciate the help folks..

And side question, I have an Ibanez RG420, which has I think just normal open coil humbucker pickups, and I'd like to know the same thing about which height to adjust them to. I don't know if it matters, but I like playing really bluesy stuff on both guitars, but have a deep love for death metal and all its chugs and squeals that go along with that. So what height should I adjust them to?

Thanks again.
Dylan.
Both pickups should be as close to the strings as possible, as active pickups don't have such a powerful magnet.

What I do is set them really close to the strings, then fret the highest fret, and if the string touches the pickups, lower each until they don't touch.

hope this helped.
Jackson DK-2 [2004 MIJ] (EMG 81/SA)
Jackson RR-3 [2007 MIJ] (EMG 81/60)
Ibanez RG370DX [2009] (EMG 81/60)
Epiphone Les Paul Custom [2004] (EMG 81/85)
Ltd/Esp M-17 7-String [2013] (EMG 81-7 set)
Bugera 333XL 120watt Tube Head, Crate BV412 Cab
no problem man.

But be sure not to do the same thing with your ibanez, which i'm sure has passives. The magnet is more powerful, meaning they would have to be adjusted lower.
Its more of a preference type deal. if they're too close, you'll have more chance the string will be pulled out of tune. if they're too low, you'll lose sustain and gain.
you might wanna meet in between, and have solid gain with no loss in sustain.

Id say set between 1/8” and 1/16” from the strings (when they are pressed down at the highest fret on the neck)
Last edited by Chaz-6(sic)6 at May 25, 2011,