Hey guys, I am new here and relatively new to to the guitar What do you think is the best way to get from a Am to a C? Sometimes I go straight over with ring finger but don't always get it right. Lately, I have been trying to take the ring finger off and use my pinky. I have a similar question about going from G to Am. There are no common fingerings and I can't move my fingers as a unit yet. I have tried putting down the ring and middle fingers first and then the index finger and I have also tried the opposite with putting down the index finger first. Any thoughts? Thank you!
I'm a newb too and sometimes have trouble with chord changes that don't have common fingerings or pivot points. Basically what I have learned from the beginning is to try to get all of my fingers to move in sync. I practice S-L-O-W-L-Y moving from chord to chord making sure my fingers land together in the correct positions. G to C is still a big nightmare for me for some reason, but once I get to C I can move to Am no problem. Sometimes I just sit in front of the tv just practicing changing chords (without strumming) over and over and over..... good luck and keep practicing!
Its all about anchoring and pivotting your fingers. To go from Am to C, or reverse, learn to pivot around your index finger, as it stays in the same place (first fret B string). As for G to Am, or any situations where there's no common fingering, its a matter of getting one finger down and letting muscle memory do the rest (.. practice practice practice)
If you're doing an Am, I would try to put your middle finger on the fourth string 2nd fret, ring finger on the 3rd string 2nd fret, and your index finger on the 2nd string first fret. Then when you go to 9 keep your index and middle fingers where they are and just switch the ring finger. You may have been already doing that lol but yeah just take it slow and practice and you'll progress just fine!
Quote by willT08
Quote by HowSoonisNow
How was Confucius death metal?