So i've been playing for 4 months now and just really got into practicing my scales ( i almost never did before because i wanted to learn the barre chord grips ) and i basically use JustinGuitar's online course and other Youtube teachers but the thing is they all suggest starting w/ the minor pentatonic scale.

So i've been practicing the scale for the past few days and i got my picking up to about 70bpm @ 16th notes and even though i don't feel like i've hit a wall, i feel like i'm practicing it for nothing.

SOOOOOO basically (lol) should i just learn the major scales instead and ignore the minor pentatonic? I want to get into blues and improvising someday and i basically need to know what scale to practice and what speed to aim for.

Lol i hope someone reads this - i know i wouldn't xp
G(g)od was like: "Make you an ark of gopher wood; rooms shall you make in the ark, and shall pitch it within and without with pitch."

And i was like: "What's gopher wood?"
speed isnt relevant. both major and minor penatonic are good for learning first, pick one and stick with it
Yeah, most people get caught up with trying to practice playing fast. Just play with the scale and see what you can make of it.
Pamposh’s final question before drifting into a state of transcendent ecstasy was, “But Master, if everything is an illusion, then why does anything matter?”

To which the master replied, “It may all be an illusion, but it’s a very real illusion.”
Improvise with the scale over a backing track. It really helped me understand when I was learning that stuff. It also gives you a chance to be creative so it doesn't feel that much like practise.
Vision is the art of seeing things invisible to others.
Stick with minor pentatonic.

Make sure to learn ALL 5 positions, for some reason most people only learn the first position, and many teachers only teach the first pos.

While learning and practicing these, say the root note out loud when you get to them