Hey

I'm a guitarist/vocalist with a decent amount playing experience etc. During my time I've recorded a few videos for youtube or just uploaded some covers onto something like sound cloud in order to share them. Now that I want to be much more serious about this I want my recordings to be of a decent quality. I basically just want some info on the kinds of sound card/microphone combinations that would be best for me to use. Obviously I'd want to be able to record straight into my computer with my electric guitar but for acoustic songs and also the vocals I'll need a decent microphone. I just wanted some advice on the kinds of hardware that's decent but not going to completely rob me of my savings. Thanks in advance.

tl;dr Decent sound cards and microphones for recording into a pc.
first off i would get a line 6 Pod. this interface allows you to plug into your computer and comes with a xlr slot and jack so mic and guitar this costs £116 for a decent one
then microphone wise for vocals i would get either an SM58 for £90 odd or the SE2200 for just over £100
I would not get a Pod.

What's your budget?

If you're doing acoustic and vocals and are wanting a decent sound, go for the UX2 and a condenser. The mic will depend on your budget. You can get an AT2020 for $99 which is decent but if you can afford 2-300 you'll be much better off. The UX2 comes with Pod Farm which will be helpful when it comes to your electric recordings and it also has phantom power that you'll need to power the mic.

If you're not interested in Pod Farm, there are a few other decent interfaces for $200 and under you can look at.
Quote by sandyman323
I would not get a Pod.

What's your budget?

If you're doing acoustic and vocals and are wanting a decent sound, go for the UX2 and a condenser. The mic will depend on your budget.

Hey, guys. I dont want to abuse chase's thread here, but ... I do... cause I am in kind of the same situation.