Hey guys, I've been playing acoustic guitar for about 6 months so I'm still very much a beginner, but I've decided to buy my first electric. Originally I was going to get a brand new Epi Les Paul 100, but I've found 2 good deals on USED Epi LP standards. One is 3-4 years old with the cherry finish, comes with guitar a strap. They're asking for $460 for it (In Aus they retail brand new $750-$1000). The other is about 9 years old, Honeyburst finish and comes with a Les Paul hard case and they're asking $410 for it. Both seem to be in very good condition from what I can tell by the pictures, so which should I choose? In any case I will take the guitar to my old school's music teacher who is an expert when it comes to guitars and make sure there's nothing wrong sound wise, and if there is I'll return it.

So what do you think? The cherry 4 yr old? Or the Honey 9 year old + case?
Since their the same guitar the only way is to see in what condition each one is in. Look at them personally and check for cracks, rust and general wear and tear. Test it on an amp.

Honestly its all up to preference of color, and any mods the owners have made, if their in similar condition. I bought my first electric second hand and it was around 9 years old. Works perfectly fine.

Although I like the cherry more, I would get the honey just for the hard case. Either way you'll probably need to spend some money on new frets and get it set up (not much, $20-30).

Hope that helped, good luck!
Quote by Anansi
Since their the same guitar the only way is to see in what condition each one is in. Look at them personally and check for cracks, rust and general wear and tear. Test it on an amp.

Honestly its all up to preference of color, and any mods the owners have made, if their in similar condition. I bought my first electric second hand and it was around 9 years old. Works perfectly fine.