I am a beginner who is trying to learn chords, regular and barre and how to switch between them. I keep hearing and reading about the term "muscle memory". How long does it take before you develop this skill? I have been playing chords for a few months and I know I am not there yet. I can get my ring and middle finger to kind of move together but not three or four fingers. Aside from practice, what can I do to speed up this process.

Many thanks!
-Mike
It's just practice practice practice.
That's really all you can do. Muscle memory is basically memory, but for your muscles, hence the name.
Once you practice it (correctly) then you will eventually get the hang of it.
Just keep on practising!
Quote by DonGlover

You look like a young Eugene Levy, but with a moustache.

Quote by slapsymcdougal
Quote by Dreadnought
Kicking a man when he's down, I'm proud of you

When they're down is the safest time.

Soundcloud
Sharks Stanley Cup 15-16
Sharks Stanley Cup 16-17,,,,?
^summed up quite well

Make sure you practice slow enough to get the movements correct, instead of jumping in at the fullest speed. If you jump in fast you might get some really bad habits when you play.

Quote by Gunpowder
Thrashturbating? Most metal of all ways to pleasure oneself.
i find it helps a lot to work through a progression if you picture the next chord you're moving on to in advance, will give you the confidence to let your hand do the work
They are correct in what they are all saying, I use a technique called one minute changes where you take two chords (for example G & C) then you see how many times you can change between the two in a minute, making sure you get all the strings ringing out that are supposed to be played, then every time you do it see if you can beat your previous score!!
I get the method from a guy called Justin Sandercoe and you can check out his website @ www.justinguitar.com