I'm making a cross from guitar to bass, and I was wondering if there was a difference between guitar picks and bass picks. anyone know
I like shotguns. thats all you need to know
I use thicker picks for bass (if I use picks for bass at all), though I like to use thick picks for guitar as well, but thicker picks work great with bass.

My advice to you is to try to play with your fingers, even if it's tiring, you'll get used to it and build stamina and strength. When I started playing bass it was tiring for me, but now a year later it's hardly any tiring at all.

But if you prefer playing with picks for a slighly different sound I'd say you should use thicker picks. Try to see which ones works out best for you.
Quote by ChucklesMginty
Generally bassists use the big triangle ones. But anything goes really. I've even heard of some guys using Jazz IIIs.

Those are a good place to start.

These are the ones I use, both for bass and guitar, they're great!
When I do use picks on my bass (almost never) I use a random 2 mm pick I've had for quite a long time now :P You can play bass with any pick really, but thin picks give a way too pointy sound, which is why you're gonna need at least 1 mm when looking for a bass pick.
I hate picks but when I use them I use Clayton 1.9m triangle picks. Small picks move around too much with bass strings.
pinga
thanks guys

Quote by Low Man's Lyric
I use thicker picks for bass (if I use picks for bass at all), though I like to use thick picks for guitar as well, but thicker picks work great with bass.

My advice to you is to try to play with your fingers, even if it's tiring, you'll get used to it and build stamina and strength. When I started playing bass it was tiring for me, but now a year later it's hardly any tiring at all.

But if you prefer playing with picks for a slighly different sound I'd say you should use thicker picks. Try to see which ones works out best for you.