I've been playing for 1 year & 2 months. I started on acoustic and am now playing on an electric. Right now I'm trying to learn more theory. I know a a few scales, a few arpeggios, and some chords.

Apart from learning some songs I'm also starting to write my own stuff for fun. So far I've only come up with a small guitar part and some short tapping sequence.

My favorite band is Avenged Sevenfold. You can kind of call them my main influence. I also listen to a lot of metalcore, deathcore, and death metal.

Considering how long I've been playing and what I know, should I focus on writing riffs or try writing full songs?
Last edited by Chimara at May 30, 2011,
Quote by zach in black
well do you want to write just riffs, or full songs. I would think a full song would feel more fulfilling when it's done even if it takes a while, but whatever floats your boat, man.

I want to write full songs. The thing is that I would love to throw some cool solos in there but I have no idea how to write one, apart from mashing a ton of random notes together.
well, get some form of cheap recording system and then record the riffs, and practice improvising over the riff you want your solo on and then see what happens from there. If you play long enough over it you'll find something you like for your solo.
Quote by Chimara
I want to write full songs. The thing is that I would love to throw some cool solos in there but I have no idea how to write one, apart from mashing a ton of random notes together.

I watched a movie once about a guy who wanted to play jazz but didn't know where to start, so some wise old music teacher told him to play a simple melody - I think it was something like "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star" - and to keep playing it over and over and over and over and over until he couldn't just play it, he truly "got it" and could throw in extra notes wherever he felt like adding them without even thinking about it.

That's one approach.