I searched around the forums to see if there was a previous thread, but I have not yet been able to find one. Sorry if there already is and I just missed it, I would appreciate a link if there is

I have a Line 6 Spider IV 75 Combo Amp, and after about two years with the thing and as my ear for effects developing, it seems to sound more and more awful. After playing through other friend’s set ups, I’ve started to realize how digital everything sounds from my amp, so I'm about ready to switch to another amp/setup, but what worries me are the pedals and effects. I would prefer to not have to pay $100 for each damn effect in a pedal (which was the beauty of my Line 6 combo amp), but I also don't want to settle with the unsatisfying sound I get with digitized effects. I have no experience with pedals/stompboxes whatsoever; it always seemed too complicated, so I have avoided them. Some people have referred me to such products as Line 6 Floor PODs and other multi effect pedal boards, but I don’t understand why these multi effect boards cost like $200 to $400 for numerous effects when a pedal with only one effect costs anywhere from $80 to $200 just by itself. From what I can understand, apparently combo amps and multi effect pedal boards are digital, whereas single pedals and stompboxes are not. Something to do with how/when they alter the sound before it is amplified.

So my questions are:

Are these multi effect pedal effects going to end up sounding just like the effects from my combo amp?

Do most major musicians use separate effect pedals, a combo amp or a multi effect pedal board?

Are multi effect pedals digital?

Thanks for the help,
Pickle
unless the multieffects is expensive (and even then maybe not) it wont sound exatcly like the single effect it is copying. remember though that some stomp boxes still use digital technology, like reverbs and delays

what effects do you need?