Hey,

I've been playing electric guitar for a few years now but I've been focusing on being a singer and song writer more then actually getting better at guitar. I don't get guitar lessons but I'd love to be able to a) play amazing guitar solos and b) make amazing guitar solos. I'm kind of stuck in between beginner guitar solos and intermediate guitar solos. I'm into rock music such as Nirvana, Queens of the stone age, Foo fighters and even stuff like ACDC or Pearl Jam.

So for example
Nirvana guitar solos are way too easy for me but I can't play some parts of a Pearl Jam solo.

I'm just unsure on how to get better at soloing. Should I learn super hard solos that I couldn't dream of playing? Learn scales? (I know some basic scales) or something else?

Thanks in advance
What exactly is your difficulty? Speed? Accuracy? More information would be great. As a whole, I'd recommend you practice technique and accuracy mostly. Get a metronome ( http://www.metronomeonline.com/ for example), set it to 40 and play the chromatic in beat. Make the speed go higher and higher with every 10-15 successful plays. Rinse, repeat, carry on. Oh and another tip - as much as it sucks, play it clean, on the clean channel and without mistakes hehe.
Thanks for your tips

I suck in most areas. I think speed is my main issue but accuracy isn't so great either
You start with an easy solo that's a bit harder than what you already know...try Highway to Hell or All Right Now by Free. In all honesty Nirvana solos hardly class as solos at all, there's not an awful lot to be gained from learning them - obviously if you want to learn the song then learn the solo too, it's just not going to benefit you much as far as progressing goes. Don't try to jump too far ahead of yourself as that's counterproductive, you spend way too long working on something for too little gain - slow and steady wins the race as far as guitar goes.