Ok, this is my first time restringing so go easy on me.

I bought Ernie Balls 10-46, apparently they last long.

I managed to put all the strings on with no problems, and they each go around the... whats the right term... machine heads... twice. My low E, D and A strings sound waaaaay too high. I tried lowering them, and the strings just beame really loose, I felt like I didnt hit the correct pitch until the string just wasnt in tight enough.

Am I in the wrong octave? How did I screw this up so badly. The high E to G I had no problems, then all of a sudden with these I am having difficulty.

I've been playing for 8 months, my strings have gone black, and nows my first time changing them, and am finding it harder than nailing some songs (awkward).

Help?
"E, D, A strings "
You do know that it's EAD, right? Do you have them on in the right order?
I fell asleep on my arm once, scariest thing that ever happened to me. I thought it was kill.
Yes they're in the correct order, but how do you define what octave you're in? Like how is it possible to get this wrong?
Quote by ♪ Pentatonic ♪
Yes they're in the correct order, but how do you define what octave you're in? Like how is it possible to get this wrong?

Either:
- Use a tuner
- Match it to another guitar. You can go online to do this.
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
Quote by Woffelz
Either:
- Use a tuner
- Match it to another guitar. You can go online to do this.

What is an octave exactly? Music goes A-G, A-G, A-G and so on, with each section higher and lower than the other. Those are the octaves yeah? So if I'm in the... lets say 2nd Octave on the E, I have to go all the way back through A into another Octave, and then adjust to the E there?

IS that the octave difference I probably need?
if you try to tune a string an octave up form where it is supposed to be it is going to break.