See, I recently got a very nice Bugera V22, which sounds great and is the metaphorical apple of my eye. It sounds great as it is, straight out the box, and I'm sure it'll sound even better once the speaker is broken in properly, but I figure that at some point I'll need or want to change the valves. However, I'm pretty new to valves and their ways, and while I think I could manage the swap itself, I'm terrified of killing myself by trying to bias the thing after swapping the power valves.

The confusing thing is, I'm not even sure if I'll need to in my case. I would just be swapping EL84s for other EL84s, but they will be from a different manufacturer (probably Sovtek or Electro-Harmonix or something else cheap and good) and I imagine will have different specs. A help page somewhere deep in the Behringer site, found with the help of Google states:

If you want to use other brand tubes, then this is a job for a real tube technician. You will need to refer to the datasheet to get the the "idle current" for the tube in question. Then you will need to actually measure the idle current through the tube itself - and adjust the bias voltage to obtain the correct idle current. In practice, you will have to aim for the best average idle current for all 4 tubes. This may require use of special "extension sockets".

But I'm not sure if this is being honest or just scaring me into buying Bugera brand tubes. So, time for a probably retarded question.

Do I need to bias my amp after swapping power tubes of the same type, but not brand?
LOOK

Call me Neutral.
Quote by da_
I wonder if you get more out put if you wire a battery to your penis.
email bugera and ask them if it's cathode-biased or fixed bias.

if you're lucky and it's cathode-biased (most, but not all, el84 amps are CB) it shouldn't require any biasing.

EDIT: lol at the irony of bugera's being super-concerned about people electrocuting themselves rebiasing and then selling amps which set people on fire...