So im still pretty new to theory.

I learnt that the Major scale is notes that are w w h w w w h right? So a C major scale would be:

C D E F G A B C (basically all the 'whole' notes).
From that, I worked out that the pattern for it would be

-------------------------------------------5-7-8---------------------
----------------------------------5-6-8-----------------------------
----------------------------5-7-------------------------------------
---------------------5-7-------------------------------------------
------------5-7-8-------------------------------------------------
--5-7-8-----------------------------------------------------------

So basically I can just 'randomly' hit any note from those and I would be playing in C major?

Also,
What backing chords would fit here? How do scales relate to chords? I assume playing the Cmajor chord would work here, but other chords work as well?

Thanks.
I see you're not using the UG black theme

Originally posted by GOD
akm_202, i now announce you, king of awesome. You may bow down to me.
Well, without making things much more complicated than they need to be, that's not really a C major scale because it starts on an A. C major scales go from C to C. But yes, all of those notes are in C major.
There's quite a few good articles in the lessons section on UG that taught me this kind of stuff a while back, so I don't really want to spend ages explaining everything in detail, but, basically?
Chords in a key (say, C major) relate to the scale (in this case, chords in the key of C major are made from the C major scale). Basic chords are made up of three notes (they're called triads when they're three note chords), and the notes are a root, a third above it, and a third above that (which could also be described as a fifth above the root).
In practice, let's say we want to build a C chord from the C major scale. We'd take the root note, C, and find the note two notes above it (a third) and four notes above it (a fifth):