Hello AG&C, hope everyone's well

I've been playing acoustic gigs for about 3/4 years (seriously), and I'm moving to a new area in September, where I'll hopefully be doing a lot more.

The problem I have at the moment, is that my live acoustic sound is often very hit and miss. It can be great one night, then horrible the next, depending on the room size/shape/acoustics, the house PA and many other things, but its incredibly annoying to have such a little degree of control over how I sound.

So, I have come to ask, what would be the best way forward, to both improve, and add control to, my acoustic performances? I have started taking my own condenser microphone to gigs, along with my preamp, for vocals, so that isn't a concern right now, but would a preamp of some kind really be worth it, for the sound and control that I'm looking for?

My guitar is a naturally warm sounding acoustic (Cedar top/Rosewood back/sides), but when plugged straight into the PA, the tone gets nasal, scratchy and harsh, if the soundman doesnt know how to use his gear, so I think something between my guitar and the PA would be wise, but I'm also looking for suggestions on miccing the guitar (should I try this approach?), pickups etc.

Basically (TL: DR), I'm looking to step my game up, when it comes to acoustic gigs. What is there out there, that would make my acoustic sound better.

Many thanks,

Bryn

xx
You're on the right line with bringing your own mic. With acoustic gig's i've found using my own gear gives me much more control over my sound.

To sort the sound, it might be an idea to feed the guitar through a pre amp/mixer to alter the EQ and try and remove some of that harshness and bring a bit of warmth back into the sound.

This all comes from what experiance I have, I hope it helps!
I love Prog, +1 for synth solos and songs about maggie thatcher.

Gear:

Geddy Lee Jazz (Black )
Fender Rumble 100 (It lights up )
MXR Auto-Wah (Purple... )