Hey everyone. Well, I've been playing for 4 or 5 years.. I'm ok I guess, but nowhere near where I believe is good. I'd like to start working towards being good in these terms:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s8IeQZ89pWM
I'm talking about the solo, I can do the rhythm no problem, same thing with most fast rhythms. But I want to be a lead
The fluidity and the choosing of the progressions is amazing. Now, I watched the demos for them, and played along, slowly, with metronome, as always. How do i work to obtaining the ability to do this type of playing second nature? I practice everyday, working slow and going up, but I really never seem to get that much better. My music theory is weak, mainly for the reason I can't find someone to explain it. I've tried tens of teachers, I've tried books. It almost feels like what dyslexia would probably be. I sit down at night and study for ages, but it doesn't click. So far, the closest I've been able to work out for myself is to try to memorize the half steps of different scales, but putting it all together has been a nightmare. At the moment, I just look at the scale vertically on the E A D or e string and try to start my run from there. So, I would like to get my stuff together finally. If anyone has had a similar problem with an almost learning block, and can point me in the right direction, I would be appreciative. I know this type of thing doesn't come overnight, and I AM willing to put the time in, but, it won't do any good if I have no idea where to start. Tips, trade secrets, etc, more than willing to listen. Thanks in advance!
god its nice hearing that someone is in the same boat as me. We should go fishing. Haha, but seriously. I feel you brother.
Quote by Argos2010
god its nice hearing that someone is in the same boat as me. We should go fishing. Haha, but seriously. I feel you brother.