I'm studying jazz guitar in college in the fall but my budget has increased and I can probably spend up to 2000 on a really nice guitar. I need a guitar that will be able to play traditional jazz, but also fusion and I also plan on playing alt/prog rock and rock in a band in college. So I need a really versatile guitar. So I've been thinking used gibson es 335, les paul standard, maybe a carvin...but I don't have a lot of ideas...give me some please thanks!
a fender guitar?

go to your local shop and play some guitars man.
Internet trolls are like sap in trees. sticky and annoying, but good on pancakes.
many great jazz/blues guitarists use hollow body guitars try the gibson es-335 and maybe some gretsch guitars, off the top of my head i cant think of any more really good ones, also dont forget an amp that is a massive part of your tone
The ES 355 or maybe a Jaguar/Jazzmaster or Tele Thinline.

I have seen some Jazz players use a Gretsch as well, but I'm not sure if they would cut it for an alt/prog sound..

I would agree with rocker to go play some at the store. Semi-hollows might be the best bet...
This.
Les Paul was a Jazz guitarist.
Quote by Trowzaa
I can't look at anything starting with BB and not thinking big busty.
Big Busty Queefing.
A Les Paul. It was a Jazz guitar originally I believe. And Les Paul being a jazz guitarist...
You can really play jazz on any guitar, a few famous jazz players have even used Teles to great effect.

If you want that particular "woody" jazz tone, than only a hollowbody will really suffice, but if you're not limited to that, then your options are wide open. An ES-335 type with some good pickups would work perfectly.

It is fair to ask what you've got for an amp, though.
Do YOU know who Les Paul is?

Guitars:
-Epiphone Dot Studio
Amps:
-Fender Stage 112 SE
Effects:
-BBE Soul Vibe
-Boss OD-1 Overdrive
-Ibanez DE-7 Delay