Hi!

I've been playing guitar for 3-4 years now, and I started trying Malmsteen stuff 1 month ago.

I can play the rhythm but I'm getting on slowly with the shredding.
I was wondering which guitar brands are better for shredding
Ibanez or Fender?

My budget isn't very high: 500-700€/pounds

Even so, just tell me which are the pros and cons of each
Some people can shred on fenders, I find it more difficult -- I'd go with a Ibanez.
Electric guitar thread.

And Ibanez, though Malmsteem uses a Stratocaster.
Quote by SonOfPest
Its the Lydian mode; formed in Eastern Arabia when the Persians invaded England.

Quote by Blind In 1 Ear
try the sexolydian scale.
Ibanez are much better for shred. The necks are much thinner, and the upper fret access is a lot better. Just better guitars for faster playing really.
Quote by add666
Ibanez are much better for shred. The necks are much thinner, and the upper fret access is a lot better. Just better guitars for faster playing really.

My budget isn't very high, I'd say 500-700,

what is a good Ibanez recommendation (if possible with a whammy bar, but if it decreases the shredding quality never mind)
I got this one, and recommend it. ESP M-II it is a brilliant guitar, worth the money.
I wouldn't focus so much on brand but on the specs of the guitars. A guitar with a thin neck and low action is well suited for shredding because the thin neck reduces the movement of the fretting hand when moving across strings and the low action reduces tension and time it would take to fret a note. A set neck or carved bolt on neck also allows you to reach higher notes on the upper strings with ease too.
Last edited by Kortez3000 at Jun 1, 2011,
Quote by Kortez3000