I really want to start recording in my home. I'm looking for a decent setup that won't break my wallet but will allow me to record music that has presentable quality. I have limited knowledge about recording but I've come up with a couple different setups and I was wondering which of the two you more knowledgeable folk would recommend, or something else entirely.

I found this and it looks like it includes pretty much everything I'd need to get set up, and the reviews looked pretty good:

http://backstage.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/presonus-audiobox-usb-recording-package

The other potential route I am considering is using the Line 6 UX2 and buying a mic setup separately with either headphones or monitoring speakers. I've heard from pretty much everywhere that Shure SM57 mics are excellent choices.

http://backstage.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/line-6-pod-studio-ux2-with-pod-farm/250004000000000

Thanks for any advice you can impart.
The MXL 990 is a crap mic. Also, those monitors in the first package are probably not going to be very good. You're better off buying a decent pair of monitoring headphones.

This depends what you're recording. The SM57 is a fantastic, trademark mic, that is for sure. but I can almost guarantee you won't be happy with it if you plan on recording vocals with it. But for just micing an amp or small acoustic parts, yes, it will be good, cheap, and near indestructable. Personally, I don't like the Pod, nor Pod Farm, but that's up to you. I'd suggest an M-Audio Fast Track II or Lexicon Lambda. But out of those two, I'd go with the second setup.