Ok so I just watched the freepower vid on finger independence and my mind was slightly blown. I've been playing for a few years and have always left fingers on the fret before if I could (i.e., if I'm doing a 1-2-3-4 chromatic and I'm on my pinky, my other 3 fingers would still be fretting - same if I'm playing a scale).

So I tried to be more conscious of this, and almost immediately my left hand/wrist felt less tense, and more able to move around faster/easier.

Now my question is, being conscious of it helps, but I'll still need to practice this at low speeds to get the full benefit that I can:

I practice about 2 hours per day, should I add in a scale or chromatic exercise that takes 10-15 mins each day to work purely on finger independence? Would this suffice to slowly but surely aid/seep into my playing? OR - should I be slowing down everything I play, all at once, and work on it for everything I do?
Quote by -TM-
Ok so I just watched the freepower vid on finger independence and my mind was slightly blown. I've been playing for a few years and have always left fingers on the fret before if I could (i.e., if I'm doing a 1-2-3-4 chromatic and I'm on my pinky, my other 3 fingers would still be fretting - same if I'm playing a scale).

So I tried to be more conscious of this, and almost immediately my left hand/wrist felt less tense, and more able to move around faster/easier.

Now my question is, being conscious of it helps, but I'll still need to practice this at low speeds to get the full benefit that I can:

I practice about 2 hours per day, should I add in a scale or chromatic exercise that takes 10-15 mins each day to work purely on finger independence? Would this suffice to slowly but surely aid/seep into my playing? OR - should I be slowing down everything I play, all at once, and work on it for everything I do?