Hi guys.

Ok, so I've been playing guitar for about 6 1/2 years now and I love it, can't get enough and I don't want to do anything else in life other than music / playing guitar. But recently I've been drifting away from practicing at home. I used to play from when I got home from school till bed time but now I play for about 30mins a night max. I'm in a bunch of bands so maybe that's the reason I don't practice anymore?

Basically what I'm asking is, what techniques / songs should I learn to keep my practice up at home, I really want to practice at home but I just don't know what to actually practice. Scales, songs, techniques, speed? I'm just not sure.

Please help me out.

Cheers.
How many bands? Maybe you should get out of a couple and focus on one or 2.
You've probably burned out on the whole practice thing, it happens if you over do it, and yes, playing in a bunch of bands would also wear you down on the practice thing...you work all day, jam with all kinds of bands all night, the last thing you want to do when you actually have some downtime is pick the guitar up again, its natural. And your on the right track, when I burn out with practicing, learning a sweet new song, usually a style or level that im not accustomed to, throws me right back in to wanting to practice constantly again.

That being said I dont think that speed drills and scales are gonna really motivate you (especially if you already have them down pat, at that point they should only take up 10 minutes of your practice time) Try some jazz, or to be more specific, try some arrangements of popular songs that have been adapted for solo guitar (chord/melody/solo all written for single guitar, not the other kind of solo), those can often times be very advanced since theres so much going on, and it will really pull you in and probably you'll probably make a few new favorite songs you would have never thought twice about before