You may know that I am a beginner. My questions at this point are kind of simple . How do you all switch from E major to G? There is nothing in common here. Which finger would you use as an anchor?
-Mike
Quote by conor-figgy
As none of the fingering is common, there's no ''anchor''. Think about it.

Maybe anchor is the wrong word. I am thinking that it might be best to lead with the pinky because it is free and then do the acoustic slide...
-Mike
Classical guitarists pay very close attention to these issues, so it definitely isn't an "anything goes" approach as someone suggested.

The best route would be to first move the middle finger from the B on the 5th string to the low G on the 6th string. Then move your index finger to the B on the 5th. As for the last notes, I'd then place the pinky on the 3rd fret of the high E, then if you want, put the ring finger on the 3rd fret B last.

Of course, this is assuming your start the G chord on a downstroke.
Quote by Riffman15
Classical guitarists pay very close attention to these issues, so it definitely isn't an "anything goes" approach as someone suggested.

The best route would be to first move the middle finger from the B on the 5th string to the low G on the 6th string. Then move your index finger to the B on the 5th. As for the last notes, I'd then place the pinky on the 3rd fret of the high E, then if you want, put the ring finger on the 3rd fret B last.

Of course, this is assuming your start the G chord on a downstroke.

I think I know what you mean, although the description seems a little weird to me. Essentially, the route leads with the middle finger, followed by index..... In the long run, this is probably best because I think it allows me to keep my hand and wrist in a proper position. When I lead with my pinky, even though it is easier for me now due to habit, my hand/wrist end up in a odd position if that makes any sense.
-Mike
Quote by WhiskeyFace