I've been playing guitar for about 2-3 years now and I really love it. But I've noticed that after playing for a while my wrist cramps up really bad where I have to take a break in the mid song.. and it's really annoying.. I was diagnosed with carpal tunnel syndrome about 2 years ago and had to wear a brace for a while but I mean, it doesn't hurt any other time except when I'm playing guitar so I don't think I have it again.. and if I do, it couldn't possibly be bad enough to go to the doctor, so I don't see the need in worrying about it. Am I holding my hand wrong possibly? Is there any way to reduce the stress on my wrist while I'm playing? Any advice on this matter will be GREATLY appreciated because my friend really wants me in his band but I just don't see how it could work out until I get this problem straightened out. Thanks a bunch everyone! :]

here's a couple pictures of how my hand is usually positioned while i'm playing just in case it may help identify the problem:

http://i667.photobucket.com/albums/vv39/stegosawrus/2011-06-0323-15-27128.jpg

http://i667.photobucket.com/albums/vv39/stegosawrus/2011-06-0323-15-37181.jpg
It looks like you're bending your wrist quite a lot. It gets painful for me if I play like that for a while too. Generally the straighter you keep it the less strain you'll cause yourself, so try moving the guitar so the neck is pointing upwards a bit. Try experimenting with your posture too, just see what works for you.
Your forearm and back of your hand should form a straight line so that your wrist isn't bent at all. Only your fingers should curl over the frets. It's difficult and I still have trouble with certain finger positions but with practice it's a lot less painful. Also, I find that it has solved some problems with muting high strings accidentally.