Hey there guys!

I have a couple of questions as I have never really gone to music school but am mostly self taught.

I started playing on an acoustic and then after the basic chords went into electric.
I know the pentatonic scale and can play a few songs:
A few blues
a few from GnR
3 from Led Zep
3 from Santana
1 Hendrix
etc

I am mostly a bedroom player (in more ways than one ) but I think a bit later I would like to jam with others.

Been playing 2-3 years on and off but practicing more now.
I find I can learn an entire new song (for example November Rain in 2-10 days) via something like lick library or guitar pro.

My question is... as I have never been to a guitar school and have had no formal training, what is the "path" to follow to become a good guitarist?

Where should i go from here? what theory / scales etc do I need to get into my head? I know I have to learn what "modes" is but... Any other links, books, videos or something else you recommend?

Thank you for your time.

Cheers!

Gear:
US Standard strat
Washburn pro e
Floor pod plus
Roland cube
Computer
“God gave men both a penis and a brain, but unfortunately not enough blood supply to run both at the same time.”
(My hero) - Robin Williams
Last edited by MusicGu7 at Jun 6, 2011,
Lots of different ways, but personally I'd go with a teacher. I did this after like 1 year and being around the same as you. Really helped me out and changed my view of things.
Blog Of Awesome UGers.
Quote by OddOneOut
I seem to attract girls.
Which is annoying, cos I'm a girl and I like cock.

Quote by IRISH_PUNK13
Being an idiot should be illegal too.
I really don't have time to go for normal classes (or quite honestly the money as its pretty expensive here) plus I learn pretty well by myself and the main problem:
it's hard to find a good teacher and even harder to know which one is good.

Some can play really well but cant teach, others show you what you want to see but thats all they know