Hi, I'm going to buy a new electric bass (around $300) in July and I'm pretty new to the whole bass shopping dealio.

I picked out two 4-string basses at Guitar Center that people have recommended and had left good reviews on.

~Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass~
and
~Ibanez SR300 Electric Bass~

For the 5-string bass, I picked out

~Squier Deluxe Jazz Bass Active V 5-String Bass~
and
~Ibanez GSR205FM 5-String Bass

Of course, I'm planning on going to the store and try out basses, but I feel a little more "safe" if I get a general idea on what bass I should lean towards.

I mainly need the bass for my church's praise team which chooses songs mostly in the christian rock & pop genre. I also like to play around at home learning new bass lines in mostly Rock/Jazz/Funk/Pop/Punk.

If you can recommend which bass from the ones I listed, or an entirely different bass, it would be greatly appreciated
Last edited by PandamoniumXT at Jun 6, 2011,
anything but a squier and ull be fine. i vote for 5 strings as well.
Equipment:

ESP F104 Bass
Spector Legend 5 Classic Bass
ESP B206SM Bass
Axl Mayhem Fireaxe Guitar
Gallien-Krueger 400RB-III Combo Bass Amp
Gallien-Krueger 115SBX Bass Cabinet
I only put Squier because alot of people recommended the VM Jazz Bass :P
What's so bad about Squier anyways?
I play guitar and I don't care for the squier strats, but I don't know about the squier basses.
I'm so happy. I get to eat a muffin.
Quote by space aids
You are so happy to eat a muffin it's kinda scary.
Quote by ali.guitarkid7
Goes around tryina light dudes on fire.
Quote by MakinLattes
Too much Sublime.

I tell a lie, there is no such thing.
If I'd not just sold it, I would totally sell my Ibanez BTB series 5 string. If you can find one used for around $400, it's totally worth that extra hundred. Simply amazing sound, so versatile, and unfortunately a bit hard to find.