So, I am new to UG, so let me first say thanks for reading my stupid newbie post and so forth. I have been working in the industry and it is about time that get up on this awesome resource before the earth ends. and without further ado here is my dilemna;

I have recently purchased my first Gibson SG with gibson p90s in it stock. plays great, feels great, looks could kill but alas the sound leaves something lacking. the body has great resonance and sustain is great, not as good as my paul, but good nonetheless. so I have decided to gut the pups and replace them.

I play in D standard and use twelves with an unwound g string (giggity!). I have numerous tube amps but will probably be pairing this up with my blackstar 20 watt head or my late 60's ampeg reverberocket II/ tube screamer 808hw rigg.

the thing i dont like about the gibson pickups is they seem weak, not enough bite. they also are not very balanced across the strings in terms of volumes per string. the bridge pup isnt bad for open chords but that is about it. they are also noisy as hell. which i was expecting as they are single coils but jeez these are too much. and the neck pickup just isn't screaming when you crank it for solo's. i really want some searing lead tones past the 12th fret. who doesn't i guess? LOL.

my thoughts so far have been to try the new joe barden soapbars or something else hum cancelling with more mids and highs. something with some balls so to speak. but no emg's.

anything i should be considering that would work well? i know i like the bardens from my previous experience with them in my tele so any suggestions on a similar sound would be greatly appreciated. i am open minded and willing to try anything as i want this to be a player not a closet queen. good tone for recording is important as well. also the money isnt really an issue since i work in the industry and can probably get dealer cost.

thanks again for any help.

- E. Martin
"Meet the new boss same as the old boss..."