i'm new to all this, i'm expecting a lot of hate, hah.

but yeah i mean i've started for around 6 months now,
and i'm comfortable with just picking it up and learning what i want to learn really..
as for not knowing or learning theory.. is that a bad thing?
i mean someday i wouldn't mind being in a band or whatever, that'll be a long time til that happens.
but learning guitar theory and such seems like just a bore to me,
sorry if i'm being ignorant on all this, but i don't think i need to learn it, or want to learn it at all,
i just wanna pick up the guitar and play what i like and better myself in terms of skill and whatnot.
is that a good thing?/bad thing?

your opinion?
how does music theory help you?
I'm much in the same boat as you, at least I was until I started trying to write stuff. It's so much easier once you've got a good idea of chords, scales etc and can just pick and choose what you're going to use and where, it's not essential but it makes it easier. It also makes explaining your stuff or teaching it t people easier due to that extra level of depth and understanding.
It's not bad, but it is not nearly, not by a long shot, as good as it could be with theory.

By the way, what kind of answer do you think you will get on a forum dedicated to music theory?
^^The above is a Cryptic Metaphor^^

"To know the truth of history is to realize its ultimate myth and its inevitable ambiguity." Everything is made up and the facts don't matter.

MUSIC THEORY LINK
how does music theory help me? i'm a musician. it's like a question if knowing chemistry makes you a better chemist. you don't NEED it, but it sure would make your job easier.

is it bad that you're only learning guitar without learning theory? in my opinion, yes, because what you're doing is you're only learning a certain section. but there's no real answer, because it's not good or bad. it's only better or worse -- it has to be comparative. the answer there would be that it's worse for you.