hey guys, lets say we've got a basic chord progression that goes like F,Am,Dm and Bb. the key of this is D minor. is that right?
Those chords do contain the notes from F major/D minor.
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
It definitely looks like F major. We got:

I-iii-vi-IV-(implied I)

It ends in a plagal cadence, which is a sure sign of its key
BC Rich Warlock 81/85 Floyd Rose
Strat copy
J-Bass copy
Pre-1933 Olds Bass Trombone (G/F Triggers)
UWT Inc. Ukulele
Ibanez TK999HT Tube King Distortion
Digitech RP70
Currently, only with a Fender Frontman 25R

"We'll do it live"
From that information I would say F major because not only does it start on F (and assuming it's a riff, go back to F every 4 bars) but if it were D minor it is likely you would have a C# but the chord sequence has an A minor chord in it which uses C natural.
Q: What's the difference between a Mexican standard tele and an American standard tele?

A: £600
Quote by jenguind
D minor it is likely you would have a C#

LOOK CLOSER LENNY!
Quote by jenguind
From that information I would say F major because not only does it start on F (and assuming it's a riff, go back to F every 4 bars) but if it were D minor it is likely you would have a C# but the chord sequence has an A minor chord in it which uses C natural.

If it were in harmonic minor yes, but nowadays in popular music the natural minor is considered the norm, and C natural is in D natural minor.
So can I solo using a d minor pentatonic over this progression? I've tried and it sounds ok. That's if I end on the correct notes as the chord progression. Or does f major pentatonic sound better?
Quote by a55a551n1191
If it were in harmonic minor yes, but nowadays in popular music the natural minor is considered the norm, and C natural is in D natural minor.

okay, but that doesn't mean this example is in D minor.

Quote by onlyoneleft