I've been using a DD-7 for almost two years and only just a few days ago realized how much I love analogue delay when the feedback is cranked to that it provides a constant drone in the background without crowding out the dry signal.
But the tone of the DD-7 isn't that great and I've been planning on replacing it for anything better.

Just a few months ago I was obsessing over real tape machines (almost bought an echoplex), but found out Fulltone is planning on making a (cheaper) new and improved version of the EP-3, so I kinda swore off the whole thing to wait.

So here's where all my wondering comes together:
- Would a tape delay be able to provide that same disintegrated horizon line that analogue pedals do? Or does the feedback function lean closer to digital delays, where repeat signals don't lose their shape and so would crowd out the signal.
If the answer would persuade me to look into other pedals...
- Is anyone familiar with the tc electronic flashback delay, and is the analogue function any good on it? I'm kind of pitting that against the MXR Carbon Copy, which seems to be the most revered analogue delay atm. But the flashback has the advantage of versatility, and up to 6sec of delay (one feature I'm looking to upgrade over the DD-7's 3 seconds). The flashback has the whole toneprint bonus, and it uses stereo; even though the CC is mono, if the tone is really that much better than the TC electronic one, I would be interested.

So to boil it down, can anyone point me to an analogue delay they could recommend with possibly an upwards of 5-6sec delay time on some feature? Tap tempo or an external footswitch would also be nice.
5 - 6 seconds? You're looking at a digital delay there aren't you?

Also since no budget.

Fulltone Tube Tape Echo
http://www.fulltone.com/tte.asp

Eventide Timefactor
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/TimeFactor
Quote by Blompcube
it's so cool to hate Gibson, even the federal Department of Justice hates them.

( )( )