Some time soon, I am planning on building a copy of a Les Paul. I have a couple books on building guitars and I have been researching the subject for around two years now. I am either going to use an ebony fretboard, my version of gibson's open book head stock. I plan on using a Honduran Mahogany body with a figured maple cap, or straight grain cap with figured veneer glued on top.
First question:
Is there a difference between a two-piece mahogany back and a one piece? On a lumber website, a two-piece of honduran is $87.50 for 3/4" x 14" x 21", and a one piece is $101.65 with the same dimensions.
Second:
Where do I get Les Paul plans for nothing that are accurate, or how much should I plan on paying?

More questions to come.
a 2 piece is more readily avaible, since you dont need to rely on 1 tree to be x wide and x long. Look at my Les Paul build, you can barely tell its a 3 piece body untill you actually look at the grain. It'll be the same tone if done properly.
The template thread is good, or you can ask your local music store to quickly trace one.
Just call me Julius, J, etc.
Taking an Internet break for a while, will come on when I can.
Thanks. More questions:

1. What capacitors would have the closest resistance to a bumblebee capacitor?

2. What kind of truss rods do gibson put in their Les Paul (R.I.P. the creator who would be 96 today)/ what are the best to use?

3. What is the best nut material to use?

nowa90, are you still working on your Les Paul?
Quote by fg-433s
Thanks. More questions:

1. What capacitors would have the closest resistance to a bumblebee capacitor?

2. What kind of truss rods do gibson put in their Les Paul (R.I.P. the creator who would be 96 today)/ what are the best to use?

3. What is the best nut material to use?

nowa90, are you still working on your Les Paul?

Word your looking for is capacitance. Most guitars use either .022 or .047 nf cap size.