Hi Guys,
I just started playing guitar seriously (I'm a bass player of 15 years convert) because my band found another bassist (finally, I've been wanting to switch for a while) and I figured it would be fun to try.
My current guitars are a Gibson 2008 Les Paul Standard and a Fender Custom Shop '56 Stratocaster RI. I've been using my bandmate's Mesa/Boogie Mk IV most of the time we practice and play, but for my own personal practicing (which has been a lot lately) I'm using a Acoustic Image Contra series III (really a string bass amp) with a Boss ME-25 pedal to make it sound a little more guitar-y and add distortion and reverb etc. Anyway as you can probably imagine it's not the best set up, and I'd like to get a nice tube amp I can use to practice and for smaller gigs so I don't have to keep borrowing equipment.
One of my big concerns is space as I live in NYC and don't have a lot of room to store anything. Even most 2x12 combos are really too big for me to be able to use very well in my apt so optimally I'd like a small 1x12 combo. I also want something pretty versatile as our band plays a lot of stuff ranging from from 60s rock (think CCR) to punk rock (Green Day and Blink 182).
As of right now I've played with a few amps in stores and I thought the Egnater Rebel-30 1x12 combo seemed really perfect for me in terms of size, tonal range, and price, but I haven't played a ton of other stuff and am open to any suggestions. I also had never heard of Egnater before playing with them in the store, are they well known/reliable amps?
Any recommendations will be greatly appreciated!
We need an absolute limit on your budget.
Ceci n'est pas une signature.
I'd say around $1800 is the absolute most, but I'd prefer to stay under $1500 if possible. I would love to get a Mesa Mk V but it's just too expensive right now (and too big physically). The Egnater was really appealing because it seemed soo cheap for what it was though, so definitely lower price is better.