alright, well i have no access to sprayers or anything, so looking around online i found you can use leather dye for wood, so i purchased some Fiebings black and green dye.
i started playing with diluting in denatured alcohol, which made it dry wayyy too fast, so i just used a bit of straight water after watching a few videos for tips.

i sanded down to 400 grit to start, which seemed pretty smooth, but of course water changes that quick...
so first i did a little green in water, and went over the whole board, rubbing with the grain (used a piece of t-shirt rolled inside another piece of t-shirt and rubber banded to a ball).
then i did black in some water, and started at the edge rubbing with the grain. and i tried slowly working my way in. i spent about an hour trying to work this burst out, and it just isnt working all that well.

first of all the grain makes it rough to work with... i tried rubbing with the grain, i tried circles, etc. i just cant get it quite right.
has anyone done this method successfully? heres some pictures of where i got it to, it really didnt capture the color well, the color is pretty full, it just looks dull in the photos.

Quote by xadioriderx
Fiebings black and green leather dye.
Seems to work fine on the wood, judging by your pic. I'll have to try that next time. I just googled it, and it's selling an assload cheaper than the overpriced stuff Stewmac sells which I have been using, and Stewmac was the only site I could find that sold colored dyes (not just different shades of brown). But I wasn't looking for leather dye

Thank you.

Unfortunately I've never tried a burst, so I can't really help you at all. :p
Quote by Øttər
Ninja, I dunno who you are but I like you.... so far....
Quote by Shaggy Shadric
My Teddy bear is God. DO NOT QUESTION MY TEDDY!
Quote by MatrixClaw
It's a good thing I like boobs or I'd be more pissed that you just bumped a 2 week old thread for that

Not part of the Bass Militia