ok, just a quick question. Will just learning songs I enjoy listening to and playing them help me get better at playing guitar through just practicing? As in technique wise, or is it necessary to get a tutor and learn 'the proper way' IE: music theory, scales and chords and stuff? because I don't plan on taking any exams or getting like 'grade 6 guitar.' I just want to play for a hobby. Is just playing songs, and maybe looking at online lessons on new techniques I'm struggling with. I will admit I'm a total beginner, and at the moment I really, REALLY suck...
hey man...how long have ya been practicing?

to answer ur question...yeah, its definietly gonna help...i mean its gotta be something u enjoy doing at the same time...and u learn all this stuff in the end to play a song right? lol....the way i began was learning chords, techniques and stuff for the first half and when i'm thru with that i'll try to practice playing little snippets of songs i can already play....

its just a good way to build up ur skills and confidence...n then start learning another part of the song...and u could progress that way....

i started off learning country songs which had plenty of strumming and enough shifts for moving your fingers around the neck. I then went on to heavy metal and started learning various riffs n started working on my picking technique, timing and speed.

so keep working at it...right now pretty much the only way i learn now is by learning new songs haha

P.S: I've never gone to a guitar teacher or anything like that...purely self-taught
Last edited by rayven1lk at Jun 10, 2011,
the way i learnt how to play was just picking out my favorite riffs and learning them. then eventually learning whole songs. then playing harder songs as i go a long. i looked up the occasional scale or two but nothing crazy.