So we're playing 3 hours at a cookout/fundraiser, and I'm slightly nervous. To make it clear, I'm not afraid of performing in front of people. Although we're definitely going to take breaks, I'd say we're going to play a solid 2 hours of music there. This seems like a lot for a first gig with my band, and I don't know how to handle it.

For one, it's a cookout so people are going to be in and out, going around and doing stuff, not always paying attention to us. So I'd think the effort of getting a crowd involved is a little different, because people are constantly moving around. So do you have any advice for interacting with these people?

Next, how do I prepare for an outdoor gig? I have windscreens for our mics, and plenty of water, but I'm not sure what else to do to prepare for this.

Finally, I'm by no means a pro singer and have never had a lesson, just kinda picked it up. How can I prepare myself to endure a 2 hour beating on my vocal chords?

Thanks, just looking for some help to calm my nerves.
make sure your drummers in the shade because the sun reflects hell into the cymbals, unless you want a blind drummer, and yeah dont try to get the crowd to hyped up because your just their outdoor radio really, just relax and jam outtttt

and you can look up Vocal Eze Vocalist Throat Spray if youre nervous about your voice but water should be enough really unless you scream a lot
Last edited by marshmellow666 at Jun 10, 2011,
I agree, in that type of situation, you are there for ambient music so to speak. Not a concert. The low pressure ones are the funnest ones. Just take it easy and have fun.
Thanks everyone

Good tip about the drummer, that never really occurred to me.

I'll check out the throat spray in advance and see how it works for me!
There are plenty of things out there to help with your voice/throat, just make sure you eat/drink things that are friendly to it and stuff like that, I don't know anything about throat sprays however.